What's new

Merkur Stockists in London UK????

Hi all,

I am a newbie here and I have asked this question on someone else's thread however it is probably better suited here. I want to upgrade my shaving experience (not difficult m3 power/gel) and have decided on one of the Merkur sets either Vision or Futur, Matt or Chrome. To help me make my mind up I would like to go to an actual shop and see/feel the sets if possible. I have found various UK websites that sell the sets but no shops.

Does anyone know of such an shop/department store in London or NW Kent. Thanks in advance.

Just a small tip - As a newbie I would advice against both the Futur and Vision, they are not great newbie razors. My advice is to get a Merkur 34c (aka HD) its a great razor and much easier to learn in with.

When I started reading about wet shaving about a month ago I had my eye on the Vision set at ClassicShaving. Due to it's rather expensive nature I continued reading and noticed from this site that a Merkur HD was a far better option to start with, together with either a Vulfix, EJ or other badger brush.

I also suggest to go with a Merkur HD or Merkur Classic until you get the hang of it and once you master your technique with any of those, you can continue the search for a decent adjustable. I've been reading that the Vision and Futur can be very gentle or very aggressive depending on how you want them to be, but I prefer to start with something simple while mastering the technique after which I will evaluate whether I want to go the Vision/Futur route or the Progress way.

I started with the Merkur HD around three weeks ago. My first three shaves had pretty stiff razor burn that I attribute to being too agressive as well as technique. The next three or four shaves were damn near BBS with very little razorburn. Now that I've figured out how water really is your friend in building slick lather I am getting excellent excellent shaves with no razorburn at all.