What's new

Non gillette shaving worthy vintage DE razors.

While I have some knowledge about which vintage DE razors are regarded as good shavers on here. Apart from the Gillette's. Merkur's and Rotbart's pop up into my mind.

But still there where so many DE razors made by many different companies all over the world through the decades. That there must be some great shavers among them.

This De razor database http://goo.gl/24MvI is large and contains many pictures and data. But there are offcourse no experiences shared about how these razors perform.

One aspect I am especially interested in is if there are non Gillette vintage razors that have automatic blade centering. Because I have read before that this is or was exclusive to Gillette's pretty much.

My DE experience until now is only with Gillette's but I am very interested to hear about other DE razors.

I had at one time three of the Kronas' and can say they are wonderful to shave with. They may look a little odd but are easy to handle. If your after something a "little different" while not super old and not really talked about on the site you could (please dont hate me for this) try a LUX razor. Polish or some Eastern Block country. A Tech clone but with a stainless handle. I found that I got great shaves with a Derby blade. Pop up on E-bay now and again and only for a few quid.

Most of them are shaveworthy.
Most of those are fantastic for somebody.

Automatic blade centering sounds like a marketing gimmick. If it has 3 studs that align with 3 holes, with quality manufacturing, it is hard to imagine anything more automatic than that.

Thanks for the replies.

Interesting to see all three repliers recommend the Schick Krona. Now it is certainly on my to get list. A shame there is not a Wilkinson Sword variant of it.

The Lux look very nice, does it have automatic blade centering like the Gillette Tech does?