What's new

Once you go Feather, there's no turning back

Once you go Feather, there's no turning back

I went Feather, and I turned back.

Now, if the thread title was Once you go Vegetal, there's no stopping you at all, I'd be with you, buddy.

I'm a Feather user, but for a little different reason. I have been DE shaving for a few months. I made a "sink or swim" decision when I first started. I started with a Feather AS/Feather blade combo, as I heard the AS was mild. No problems out of the ordinary, so I switched my go to razor to a Futur and ramped it up to 5 in about a week. That is what I still use. I figured that if I used a sharp blade in an aggressive razor to learn, I would be able to use most other razor/blade combos without problem and maybe accellerate the learning curve. I'm still learning, but I'm pretty happy with my results. It is probably not the right approach for everyone, but it's working for me.

Yea, I turned back. What remains of my 10 pack of Feathers is on the bottom of the stack. They're just not for me. I find them to be nearly as rough as a Merkur. Yes I've tried different razor combos, and no its not my technique. As mentioned before, i shouldn't have to alter my technique for one blade when it works perfectly fine for every other blade. And a good blade will work in all of my razors.

I know YMMV vary, but in my opinion, Feather has benefited from a lot of hype on this forum and the fact that some people just like to be a part of the majority. Because i certainly don't understand the love. Shark, Astra, Gillette 7 o'clocks are just a few that I have tried that give a superior shave.

Sorry to rant.... I just don't get the hype.

Sorry to rant.... I just don't get the hype.