What's new

Frameable picture of King C. Gillette

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
I would like to find a picture of King C. Gillette with his signature like on the Blue Blade advertisement that is suitable for framing. Although there are many pics on line, none seem suitable for the aforementioned purpose. Any ideas?

As long as the image is not copyrighted, a professional printing shop should be able to blow-up an image to your desired size, while keeping the resolution crystal clear.

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
I would assume that the picture from the Blue Blade ads of old are copyrighted.

Most smaller print shops will still work with you as long as you're only ordering like 1 or 2. If you ask for a run of hundreds, they'll say no.

I am no copyright lawyer, but I would assume the copyrights would run out at one point or another. Maybe someone who is a bit more knowledgeable than I am will reply.

Worst case scenario, you may have to hunt one down on eBay or at an antique store. I am sure they exist. Good luck with your search.

this one? what size were you looking for?

proxy.php

Any copyright filed prior to 1923 is now public domain. Any copyright filed between 1923 and 1963 might be in the public domain - it depends whether or not they have been refiled.

Yes, that one. But how do I get a frameable copy?

Take a good image copy that has good resolution like this:

proxy.php

Go to a printing shop like Kinkos and ask them to call up this page, take the image and reproduce it in whatever size you wish.

Good fortune.

I would assume that the picture from the Blue Blade ads of old are copyrighted.

Because this is their advertising image, it is trademarked.
BUT, a), you are not using it for commercial gains (i.e. you are not selling it), b) I believe trademarks last 10 years and are renewable, are they keeping this alive(?), c) Gillette doesn't care what one person does for their personal use as long as they are not trying to profit or steal from them.