What's new

Crossing the Straight Divide

I plan on making this thread a kind of diary of my experience and journey through what I am calling the Straight Divide. That is the time before a straight edge razor and the time after.

Today is the first time I have ever put a straight to my face and shaved. (i did once before being really stupid and cut my ear a little, no major blood)

The experience was...wait I am jumping ahead, I should explain a little history, and method first

History
My usual shave is with a Weishi DE and a wilkinson blade. I have been doing this for about 6 years now and have developed a great technique with a nice close shave (although against the grain is not great for me).

Recently I thought I would make the jump into Straight's and bought a vintage blade. This was cleaned up and honed by Oz.

After many weeks of reading/watching/and more reading I took the plunge today and had my first shave.

Tools
  • Omega Badger Brush (grade unknown but does feel soft)
  • Crabtree & Evalyn Nomad soap in a wood container
  • Styptic liquid bottle
  • Proraso
  • Japanese Tea pot as a my shaving mug (hey I like it and it has a nice strainer on the top)
  • Eye Witness Straight (freshly honed by Oz)
  • A printed sheet with step by step instructions (grab the 198kb pdf here) which I need to remember to try and follow
  • Diamond belt paddle strop
  • Crabtree & Evalyn Nomad after shave
  • Inox for oiling the blade
  • paper towels for drying

Technique (well what I should do)
I roughly followed the instructions that I have set out in this PDF and will paste up in my bathroom for daily reminders

Results and thoughts
Shaving with a straight is quite different to DE. The sound of the beard being cut is a little weird at first but very enjoyable. Still have a long long way to go with getting used to moving such a long blade around on my face without cutting myself. I managed to get about 3 cuts from the blade, nothing that Styptic could not stop.