What's new

Not sure what kind of hone this is

Hi everyone. I visited my local flea market today for the first time and I was excited to purchase this hone and wooden box for $12. :001_smile

I hope I can get some help from you guys. I'm a newbie and am excited about honing my own staight razors. I intend on practising on older razors first before attempting on my good razor (Dovo Special). Here are my questions.

The box has 4 semi-sharp pin on the bottom which I guess are used to hold the box and hone in place while honing. I can see that it has two layers on the hone and there is a clear division between the two layers because it looks as though the two have been glued together. The bottom side seems to be much finer than the top. The top layer (the one used more often) is not even. I seems that the middle has been worn down more than the far ends - I guess it will need to get lapped. The hone is rather grimy. I'm not sure if this is oil mixed with dirt/metal particles.

1. What kind of hone is this?
2. Any idea what the grit levels could be and can it be used to restore a razor that is dull?
3. Shall I clean it before using it? What can I use to clean it - shaving foam perhaps?
4. Do I used water or oil on it or use it dry?

I've attached some photos. Thank you in advance.

Terry

Hi everyone. I visited my local flea market today for the first time and I was excited to purchase this hone and wooden box for $12. :001_smile

I hope I can get some help from you guys. I'm a newbie and am excited about honing my own staight razors. I intend on practising on older razors first before attempting on my good razor (Dovo Special). Here are my questions.