What's new

Rooney 1/1 vs. 3/1 in Super

Which would you recommend?

Looking for a good all around brush to work well with both soap and cream (more so soaps). Sometimes bowl lather sometimes face lather. Really would like it to be massaging/exfoliating but still soft on the face. I do prefer a bit longer handle. I have no experience with lofts shorter than 50mm.

1/1

3/1

Very tough call. The 1/1 fits your needs for massage and exfoliation as I found the 3/1 a tad floppier than the the 1/1 (even though some list the specs as the same). But the handle issue remains. The 1/1 (which I still strongly endorse) has a small handle.

I have a 1/1 which I love. I think it's a great all around brush. The handle is a little short though so the 3/1 might be a better choice if you are going to be using your brush to bowl lather at least some of the time. The loft/knot should be very similar if not identical so I think you are fine with getting the 3/1.

garyg

B&B membership has its percs
I'm with Joe, the 3/1 I sold was floppier than the 1/1 I kept .. but if you can't abide the shorter handle try & find the shortest lofted 3/1 available ..

The 3/1 will be a better all-round brush. The longer handle will work better in the bowl and is irrelevant when face lathering. Either brush will lather soaps and creams like nobodies business.

Very tough call. The 1/1 fits your needs for massage and exfoliation as I found the 3/1 a tad floppier than the the 1/1 (even though some list the specs as the same). But the handle issue remains. The 1/1 (which I still strongly endorse) has a small handle.

Note: "a tad floppier" on a Rooney brush is still quite firm and dense.

the vintage blades 3/1 has a loft of 48mm or so yet classicshaving advertises their 3/1 as having a 55mm loft. Am I going crazy or is there an actual difference?

would I find a 48mm loft on a 3/1 too floppy? I use a TGN finest set at 50mm and it doesn't seem floppy to me...