What's new

A few blade questions...

Hello, I'm new to the DE razor, as I just got my first Merkur "Long Classic" a few weeks ago. (Love it!) I've used the Merkur super stainless platinum blade that came with it, and also tried the standard Gillette blades you can still get at local drugstores.

Of course I liked the Merkur blade much better, and I need to order more. But what I wanted to ask is should I order the Merkur blades...or go for the Feather?
Also, where is the best place to order each of them online?

The other questions I had was how long should you use each Merkur/Feather blade? And is there a proper top and a bottom to these blades when you load them, or are they exactly the same on both sides?

hello and welcome to the forum....

blades do not have a top or bottom...but they do have a left or right (just kidding)...

blades usually last 4 to 7 shaves depends on the number of passes/shaves and your beard type. They say that a beard hair is ike cutting a copper wire of the same diameter.

feather blades may be a bit too sharp for you yet....

we love QED, classicshaving, em's, and the gentlemen's shop for our stuff. They all have excellent customer service. You will find these folks very helpful when you write to them, too.

always feel free to ask any questions, we have all started out like you.

best regards,

mark the shoeshine boy

Holidayidol,