What's new

Yes another newbie honing question

Yes another newbie here joining the ranks at B&B. I have been reading through the forums over the last few weeks and have enjoyed it very much so I ended up registering. Since I am a newbie, there is so much to learn and I feel that I have learned a significant amount about wet shaving in just the last few weeks but I see that there is oh so much more to learn. For now I have a question about honing. I have noticed that the standard recommended here is a 4000/8000 stone and possibly going up to 12K or above. I recently bought a 12K to do finishing work on my straight razors but it is my other stones that I have questions about. You see, quite a while ago, before I even learned that men were still using straight razors to shave, I had purchased a couple of water stones to sharpen tools that I have around the house. One is a 1K and the other is a 6K. Do you think I could use the combination of the 1k/6k/12k and get a good honing job in or should I go out and purchase a 4k/8K specifically. These water stones are expensive and I wouldn't want to go out and spend any more money if the honing stone combination that I already have should work good. I appreciate any feedback on this.

Take my advice with a grain of salt, but I would say you might want to consider getting an 8 or 10k stone at the very least, and probably a 4k as well. Here is why:

1. You mentioned sharpening tools. Using a waterstone as a dual purpose tool and razor stone can apparently cause problems according to what I have read. Tools (and even just knives) are harder on a stone than a razor is, and according to what I have heard you will find yourself lapping those waterstones a lot more frequently to maintain a nice flat surface to hone razors on. Over time you will wear the stone down a lot more if you use it as a dual purpose stone.