What's new

Wine Recomendations

I'm pretty new to wines, but I do like wine, Cabernet Sauvignon in particular. This past Saturday I had a bottle of Canyon Road at an upscale steakhouse, and thus far it has been the bes wine I've had. I'm looking for some recomendations on other wines to try. I'd like to keep the price around $30-$40 per bottle. I'm willing to increas this price range for a special occasion. But I'm starting to see every day as a special occasion :biggrin:

ouch

Stjynnkii membörd dummpsjterd
I'll sell you this one for $40.
full

Of course, a full one is a few dollars more. :001_rolle

The only way to learn wine is to taste your way around the world. Only then will you know if that $30-40 bottle is world class or no better than a $10 bottle.

I'd suggest starting with the Languedoc-Roussillon area of France.

Last edited by a moderator:
Find a good wine shop in your area with a knowledgeable staff and pick their brains.

+1. I know very little about wine, but I know a few particular labels I like. So when I'm looking for something a little different I drop in to my local shop and tell them what I like and how much I want to spend and they never fail to get a perfect bottle. I've done the same thing with food pairings: bring in a menu and walk out with a perfect bottle for each course.

This is a HUGE subject. The best thing for me when learning wines was to be able to recognize what I like. Much like being able to recognize the grain of your beard improved your shave, being able to recognize wine qualities that you like will improve your wine experience. Even within a particular style, (in your case Cab Sav) there are huge differences between bottlings.

Things that are of note: Fruit: Do you like more or less pronounced fruit flavors? Sweet/Dry: Obviously, sweeter or not? Tannins: That sharp, "pucker factor" that you get on the finish. Weight: Heavy, bold wines, or light? Oak: how much oak, vanilla has the wine received from aging in wood?