What's new

Tape or not (no, not the same old question)

This is not a "Should I use tape?" thread. I've done a search, and those threads can spiral downward quickly.

I'm new to this, and acquired two razors (full hollow) which were honed with tape. I know that I should be able to use those for a while and just use a leather strop to re-align the edges between shaves, though at some point I will need to touch up the edges on a stone or film, or send them out.

So, my question is:

If I'm going to attempt to touch up the edge myself once my strop seems ineffective (I've got some film and glass plates), do I need to tape?

It seems to me that if I don't use tape, it will require removing more material from the edge to contact the apex, which basically means resetting the bevel, correct? Which of course is more than a mere "touchup" and feels outside my current skill level.

In my case, regardless of how you feel about using tape (and I'll admit that I likely won't once I learn to hone), am I better off using tape to touch up my current razors, at least until they require a more aggressive honing?...or should I throw caution to the wind, and go back to 1k and see what I can accomplish (learn)?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
I am no expert in using tape when honing. I do use it when I have a lot of metal to remove before finally setting a blade's initial bevel.

That being said, if I was in your position I would first give it a go without tape. It shouldn't take many laps to remove the excess steel. If that doesn't work, you can always go to using tape for the refresh.

I'm a newbie to honing as well, so grain of salt, etc...

My understanding is that tape is used to either protect the spine, or to change the bevel angle.

If you are touching up a razor honed with tape, I'd tape the spine. If you want to experiment with bevel setting with the other razor, you'll still have one (probably) solid edge to shave off.