What's new

Newbie to CCW - Opinions on Taurus GX4

Hey, guys. I'm completely new to CCW. I'm taking my class next week and will borrow a gun for it. I've been around firearms all of my life, but not pistols as much. In doing some research on CCW pistols, there are 3 9mms that seem to keep coming up - the Sig P365, the Springfield Hellcat, and the Taurus GX4. (The Glock 43 is also mentioned, but these beat it in capacity.). The Taurus is a newer gun, but it seems to get rave reviews. Any thoughts?

(One other question if I can slip it in. Are the Palmetto State Armory-branded guns of good quality? I'm not trying to be cheap. Just wondering if anybody has an opinion.). Thanks.

oc_in_fw

Fridays are Fishtastic!
Hey, guys. I'm completely new to CCW. I'm taking my class next week and will borrow a gun for it. I've been around firearms all of my life, but not pistols as much. In doing some research on CCW pistols, there are 3 9mms that seem to keep coming up - the Sig P365, the Springfield Hellcat, and the Taurus GX4. (The Glock 43 is also mentioned, but these beat it in capacity.). The Taurus is a newer gun, but it seems to get rave reviews. Any thoughts?

(One other question if I can slip it in. Are the Palmetto State Armory-branded guns of good quality? I'm not trying to be cheap. Just wondering if anybody has an opinion.). Thanks.
G43X come with a 10 round mag- grip is longer than the 43. Someone makes a steel mag that holds 15 in the same space, but I feel 21 (two mags, one in the pipe) is enough.

Whisky

ATF. I use all three.
Staff member

Is there a range around you that rents pistols? I’d try to shoot rack of those 3 and the Glock before you made your decision.

I know more than one person, myself included, that has purchased a pistol based on reviews only to find that it doesn’t fit their well or the sights just don’t line up naturally when bringing the gun up.