What's new

Is there anyone in NYC who can teach me to hone and strop?

Hello fellow straight razor enthusiasts,

I am new to straight razor shaving and I am interested to know if anybody could recommend straight razor honing workshops, classes or private tutors near Manhattan New York City, covering sharpening, polishing, proper honing technique, stropping etc. I would love to learn from a fellow enthusiast willing to spend a few hours teaching a novice the basics.

I think if you can teach to use a SR then you should have no trouble teaching yourself to hone.

Do a search here for "The Method" technique. Guys here report having success on the first attempt when they follow it to the letter. :)

Mike M

...but this one IS cracked.
I believe @rbscebu was trying to find out if there was a need for an online honing course but even if he didn't get one done he could certainly give you a few pointers

I don't know of anyone that teaches. Here is a link to shops that offer straight razor shaves; maybe one of them will help you:

There may be some on this forum that were taught, but I think most of us have learned on our own. There are numerous videos and I do not think that straight razor shaving is that difficult. I also think that you cannot learn to hone while learning to shave. You need to start off with a professionally honed razor in order to shave well. And you learn to strop the razor as you go along. It will be some time before the razor needs to be honed again. You can always send it out again or pick up some stones and cheap razors to learn how to hone. And remember, despite any claims, most new razors are not shave ready and need to be honed. Hope that helps.