What's new

Alternative to Feather DE?

It has been several years since I've used anything other than a Feather DE blade in my ATT original R plate razor. I could use only those blades in that razor forever and be happy. The last time I bought a sample pack, there were some Astra, Gillette 7 O'Clock, and others I can't remember. The blades were all fine, but for initial sharpness and the second shave, the Feather was better enough that I settled on them.

Now, I feel like trying new blades in my DE razor, even though I am just beginning a new journey with a SE Slant from ATT. What DE blades would you, fine gentleman suggest? I will probably pick 3 to 5 different blades to try. My usual practice with a new blade is to use 3 to 5 blades in a row of a particular brand (6 to 10 shaves) to see what I think and then move to the next brand. Once I've tried every brand, I shave with the worst of the bunch until my supply is finished and move to the next better blade. By the end, I hope to have one or two blades in addition to my trusty Feathers to have on hand. I also ordered an ATT SSRH head for a more aggressive shave, and I am curious how different blades work with more blade gap.

Which of the many blades should I consider for my test run?

That's basically a Feather.

But yeah, I'd recommend KAI as well if Feathers are your primary love.

Other blades in the same vein:
Wizamet Super Iridium
Polsilver
Lab Blues
Gillette 7 O'Clock Blacks
and my personal favorite,
Astra Superior Platinum, though I'm not sure you would find those sharp enough.

Edit: You'd probably like everything on my list from the Lab Blues upwards.

Last edited:
That's basically a Feather.

But yeah, I'd recommend KAI as well if Feathers are your primary love.

Other blades in the same vein:
Wizamet Super Iridium
Polsilver
Gillette 7 O'Clock Blacks
Lab Blues
and my personal favorite,
Astra Superior Platinum, though I'm not sure you would find those sharp enough.