What's new

Newbie here! Hello and some questions

I recently started wet shaving and whenever I search on a shaving question, Google directs me to a thread at B&B so I decided to join the forum and here I am :)

From what I can tell so far, this is not your typical internet forum. I mean it seems like a friendly spot to share ideas and, for the most part, treat each other with respect even when opinions differ.

I've really been enjoying the shaves I've been getting but I have a couple of questions. Until such time as I succumb to AD (inevitable) and start hoarding exotic razors machined from fancy materials, I remain a mere mortal shaving with a DE89 and getting perfectly wonderful results.

I have many questions from all my searches and reading various conflicting opinions. I fully expect to hear "you're over thinking things" and I'm sure that I am. However overthinking things is something I enjoy, so it is not a "problem", for me at least, to overthink things. Rather it is part of the experience so please indulge my overthinking and asking questions 🤓

I've read many posts saying how the threaded post on the DE89 will break off easily if dropped. Well simple, I just won't drop it. :letterk1:
Some posts say the Mühle version uses brass for the threaded post so is improved over the EJ version. There are also many posts saying zamac will quickly corrode and those posts may show pictures of a zamac cap with a gnarly lump where the threaded post once was. Some things that jump to my questioning mind:

Isn't Zinc what you coat nails with so they won't corrode in the outside weather? Why would a zamac razor corrode?

I'm deliberately saying "corrode" rather than "rust" although many of the posts I read use the word "rust". I may be wrong but I thought "rust" applies only to Iron (Iron Oxide) and I wouldn't expect they use iron in the zamac material. Or??