What's new

my first blade restore attempt

Hi all - I thought I would share my recent attempt at restoring a razor.
I am not too experienced with intricate work with my hands, and patience is not my strong suit, but the many threads and discussions here on B+B helped immensely.
I chose a razor type i enjoy - a japanese YSS - not in the worst shape, but bad enough to get me going, test my skills and learn. Although I could improve quite a ways still - I am really happy and had a very staisfying shave yesterday.

Screenshot 2022-12-29 092507.png
Screenshot 2022-12-29 092559.png

I started with removing the scales by grinding the pins with a needle file - the start of my awakening in how patience in this process is key. I only removed the blade pin - leaving the wedge intact
Steel wool and wd40 after removing the scales removed flaky bits and helped me see what I was working with.
IMG_2626.jpg

I followed advice and had a small wooden jig with magnets - holding the blade flat. other equipment was a couple wine corks (for some reason there are plenty in my house) and a smaller piece of hard rubber hose.
I then started with W+D paper - initially starting with 320, which i quickly learnt was too fine. I didnt have any lower grits at hand intially. I returned to the start with 150, this was where I spent hours and hours over a couple days.
I followed 150 - 220- 320- 400- 600- 800- 1200. This is the finest paper i can get easily. I tried to alternate directions and found mself holding the blade and using fingers more than the flat jig and corks.
With the progression done - I used Fitz polish by hand on both the blade and a gentle approach to the scales.

IMG_2653.JPG
IMG_2656.JPG

IMG_2655.JPG

A few spots are not perfectly clear but overall I like how it turned out. I dont see any benefit at this point in going higher, i could probab;y spend more time at lower grits, possibly returning to the start after 400 - where i see what is left behind.