What's new

Favourite Christmas foods

DoctorShavegood

"A Boy Named Sue"
Scotcharoos.

I have been serving the family my homemade Jambalaya for the past 7 years and it is a permanent staple now, if I mention trying something new the rumors of mutiny start immediately. My one x-mas request is Knorr's vegetable dip in rye bread.

Old Hippie

Somewhere between 61 and dead
Fruitcake, but I'm picky. Don't get me started; I will lecture. :)

Brioche. Maybe this year I'll make a pannetone. Turkey a hundred ways. Haggis. Mince pie. Hell, pie.

Mrs. Hippie lately found a nog recipe she can drink. I like it, too, but think it needs some brandy (which she can't have so oh well).

O.H.

DoctorShavegood

"A Boy Named Sue"

Brioche. Maybe this year I'll make a pannetone. Turkey a hundred ways. Haggis. Mince pie. Hell, pie.

Mrs. Hippie lately found a nog recipe she can drink. I like it, too, but think it needs some brandy (which she can't have so oh well).

O.H.
I love fruitcake, to my bad I didn’t learn about it until late in life. Some wonderful stuff.

Is booze food? It makes things so much better if you know my family. 🤪

Other than that, sausage balls are a Christmas tradition.

Something like this…

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
I love a good fruitcake, but my most strong food association with Christmas was my mothers home made Divinity.
I have not had it since the early 1970's when I left home, and she passed in 1983.
This thread has me thinking of trying a batch in her memory.

Tirvine

ancient grey sweatophile
I love fruitcake. I make it dark and so full of fruit and nuts that the batter is almost crowded out. This year's has candied tart cherries, pineapple cubes, and citron along with currants, white raisins, and slivered almonds. On a few I soaked the fruit and nuts with orange juice, molasses, and Irish whisky. The last few used Sherried Scotch in place of the Irish. I soak them in Sherry.

Chef455

Head Cheese Head Chef
Creamed pearl onions.