What's new

My Shaving Brush Ranking

Hannah's Dad

I Can See Better Than Bigfoot.
So I have been doing this for around 15 years, and have never heard of declaration grooming. Am I just really old? Looking at their pages, they charge $400 at the entry point? Are they that good? Don't get me wrong, I'll buy a Rolex, and be happy with it, but a shaving brush from a -10 year old vendor at over $400? What am I missing?
The main reason his prices are so high is because for a while, guys who were able to get a jump on brush drops were buying them at his $200-ish price points but then turning around and selling them in the secondary market for twice that amount or more. That bothered him, so he raised his prices 1) to discourage flipping and 2) because he thought guys were willing to pay those prices for a custom, hand-tied brush. He always seems to be sold out … so …

Other similar ‘high end’ artisans are also charging these prices, such as Varlet, Black Eagle, Wald.

Last edited:
So I have been doing this for around 15 years, and have never heard of declaration grooming. Am I just really old? Looking at their pages, they charge $400 at the entry point? Are they that good? Don't get me wrong, I'll buy a Rolex, and be happy with it, but a shaving brush from a -10 year old vendor at over $400? What am I missing?

I note that you do have a Morris & Forndran from back in the day. I checked current prices on those and they are just a hair cheaper than a DG brush. I suspect that an original M&F brush from back in the day might bring a premium. If you were offered $400 for your brush would you sell it?

You and I are exactly opposite in at least one respect. I would not dream of buying a Rolex. A hand tied shaving brush is a relatively less expensive luxury. There is also the magic of the BST.