What's new

Help with buying first DE razor

I ditched the cartridges and canned goop a year ago. I am very glad I did. Shaving has changed from a dreaded task to a wonderful hobby I truly enjoy. If I could start over, I would have started with a Rockwell 6C. In my opinion it is the best starter DE. The multiple plates allow you to adjust, but still have the simplicity of a three piece razor. Just my two cents. Enjoy the journey!

Rhody

I'm a Lumberjack.
Welcome
Good luck with your purchase. So many choices it might not be your last and hard to go wrong. The problem might be rad.

As a newbie myself...less then a year.
I will suggest that I have found the biggest change has little to do with the razor or blade and FAR more to do with the lather generated with a decent brush and soap.
I have used the same razor and blade combo and had a totally different experience depending on how well I lathered my soap.
If I was starting again right now with the knowledge I have gained in the last year, and was shopping on Italian Barber.
I would buy:
Razorock Gamechanger .68p
paired with Nacet or Rapira blades
Razorock Bruce plissoft brush
Any of the Razorock soaps;
XXX, Mudder Focker, Emperor are my choices.
A bowl to lather in would be helpful to start...I use an old catfood dish with some coins siliconed to the bottom.

I could shave with those items happily for the foreseeable future.

Goodluck in your search
Jay

Welcome aboard. As you can already, this is a great forum.

I started with a Merkur 34c. Great choice. Unfortunately(?), I later fell down the rabbit hole for soaps, brushes and higher end razors (if you ever get to that point, Timeless is a good choice).

My real advice: listen to the other members and then draw your own conclusions. Don’t go crazy looking for the next best new razor. You can get a great shave as long as your technique is good.