What's new

New user looking for the Goldilocks combo

Hi guys! I got into safety razor shaving last month, after getting pissed off about the price of disposables and going down a Google rabbit hole. Been reading a few threads on here but this is my first time posting.

Anyway, I started off with an Assured for Men dollar-store razor. 3 piece with a plastic handle. I figured that would be something cheap to mess around with and see what safety razors are about. I've been shaving with nothing but a safety razor and Barbasol so far... haven't got fancy yet.

It took one shave with the included dollar-store blades to send me to Amazon, where I got some Gillette Platinums. The razor was actually usable once I got some real, non glass shards in there, but it is very aggressive. I'm brand new to this, I know I don't have good technique, but I would nick myself once or twice every time I tried to use it. I ran over a mole with it not knowing any better (cartridge habits!), and that sucker bled for 3 hours and soaked through 2 bandages.

I kinda got hooked on this whole wet shaving thing though, so I figured I'd put some money down for a "real" razor. I ordered a Gillette Heritage safety razor off Amazon. Honestly, they got me with the sweet leather case. It arrived Saturday, and I loaded it with some of those Gillette Platinums I had.

That razor is suuuper frickin mild. It's almost like a cartridge razor, and sometimes I can't even feel the blade. I doubt you could cut yourself with this if you tried. A couple of times now, I have ran over a patch of hair I knew was there and the Gillette wouldn't cut it. I ran over that same mole with this razor, using really light pressure, and it wasn't even irritated.

Honestly, I'm a little let down by the Gillette. I've ended up with 2 nice shaves from it, but it took me 2 or 3 passes and some cleanup to get stuff that the dollar store razor could get on the first try (if I didn't bleed out first.)