What's new

Shaving Without Products or Cream

Hello Everyone;

Started wet shaving a few weeks prior to COVID. A friend had gifted me a basic set years ago and he came over with his family after the death of another mutual friend say Feb 2020. He asked me if I had tried and the stuff had been sitting there for years so upon my wife's urging I caved in and.... haven't done the electric thing ever since. Using all the products and experiencing the aromas was AWESOME and a great thing to experience. For us the "lockdown" which wasn't really lock down at all as we were out and about as it gave us the time to do more things we loved some together as a family, others looking inwards to do nice things, one of them being... wet shaving.

So I've been doing it for 2 1/2 years and pretty good at it. Got a collection of safety razors and my favorite is the Blackland Dart. I prefer the Astra blue (Superior not platinum less harsh) as well as Big Ben blades. But I found that as life got busy again didn't have time to whip up shaving cream and do the whole riga-marol. So I just wet my face in the shower, enjoy some heat and towards the end of the washing session so my pores are all open I just shave. I don't use a mirror in the shower either lest it falls and shatters I just go by feel.

If anything the use of products dulls the feel and I seem to cut a lot more easily even if I use soap but sometimes I just love preshave oil. I cut myself more with it so it's limited though. So hot water, a wet face and nothing more save open pores works well for me. Anyone else not use products and shave "just so"?

No, but I routinely shave with the lather that's on my face after I wash it with an olive oil based soap that helps my eczema. It's already on there and it's super slick, so may as well. I get great shaves with it and it clears up my skin problems at the same time.

Hi @Attilio and welcome to B&B! Welcome aboard.