What's new

Tips for lathering Tabac

I have been using shaving creams for several years, but recently decided to try Tabac as I have seen it recommended several times. I have used it a few times now, but I am not getting a good lather and it isn't lubricating the razor. Does anyone have any suggestions for getting a better lather and ultimately a better, smoother shave with Tabac?

For reference, I am using a best badger brush that is soaked in hot water while I shower. I then put some hot water in the soap dish with the puck for a couple of minutes before starting to shave. The first time I tried Tabac, I tried getting some soap in the brush and then creating lather in a bowl, but that didn't work well at all. The next couple of times I tried creating the lather right on the puck which was better, but the shave still felt very dry.

Thanks in advance for the suggestions.

Nick

Tabac requires copious amounts of water to lather properly.

When you think you’ve added enough, add water again (and again).

As several have already mentioned, Tabac lathers well right on top of the puck with plenty of water. I also only use one of my Omega boars with plenty of backbone. Lathers right up without messing around.

If you're used to shaving cream, a hard soap takes longer to load and needs more water added. I'd suggest a brush with some backbone to load the soap easier. You want the brush tips to be saturated with soap, then begin mixing in more water in stages, usually about three stages. Tabac is really easy compared to some other hard soaps out there.

Remember, plenty of soap + plenty of water = plenty of lather

If you don't have enough water added, the lather will not be as slick as it should be.

luvmysuper

My elbows leak
Staff member
Tallow Tabac will lather if you bring a brush into the same room.
As suggested, try more water than you've been using.
That picture perfect lather that looks like whipped cream? It shaves like whipped cream too.