What's new

Was This Supposed To Happen?

I'm a relative newbie to DE shaving. I started out with a Merkur Classic (which I actually purchased many years ago, but never used) and I've been using it with my new soaps, creams, etc. with what I consider to be good, albeit novice-level, results.

I then tried using a vintage Gillette DE that I had also purchased many years ago from an antique store, but had never used, and I think I the like the Gillette more than the Merkur.

This wasn't supposed to happen, was it? Is there something wrong with me??

Yes, Billy, there is something wrong with you...an addiction of wet shaving. Many here prefer the old Gillettes to the new Merkur. I personally prefer the Merkur when I use a DE. No, nothing wrong, you are just determining your preferences.

Randy

The important thing here is that you found what you like and what works for you. Like Randy, I prefer the Merkurs but I have a 1953 Gillette superspeed that I can get a great shave with and is part of my rotation. Part of the enjoyment for me is trying different equipment to see what works best for me personally. There have been rave reviews on this forum and others of products that just didn't work for me at all. Now, what brush is going to work best for you?:biggrin:

Jerry

Interesting as last week I used a Gillette superspeed from the late 40s and couldn't get a close shave compared to my Merkur HD Classic. I used it all week and still have spots of stubble where my Merkur always gets them. So, today I was back on the Merkur wagon and clean as a whistle. Guess I just have to try those other three DEs I got in the lot...

I have a selection of "old" Gillettes and a selection of new Merkurs. Personally I find that I get acceptable shaves with the Gillettes....and great shaves with the Merkurs. May be something to do with the different blade exposures.

Regards
Brian

Billyjeff,