What's new

The Gentleman’s guide to fortified wines

The first in a series of articles covering fortified wines is my interpretation of the most famous fortified wine, Port. Since I am far from an expert, I am going to keep this simple and focused on the most common aspects of Port. This is certainly not intended to address all of the complexities of this distinguished industry, feel free to offer corrections or further explanations if something is incorrect or missing.

To correctly be classified as Port, this fortified wine has to come from grapes grown in the Douro Valley in northern Portugal, much like Cognac has to come from the Cognac region of France and Scotch must come from, well, Scotland. The most popular Port is produced from red grapes although white Ports are gaining in popularity. For our discussion, we will be focusing on the red style.

How Port is made:
Port starts out like any wine. When fruit sugars are at targeted levels, the grapes are harvested and their stems are separated. They are then crushed and the juice (skins included for red Ports) is allowed to ferment in vats.

While typical wine is allowed to ferment completely (all available sugars are converted into alcohol and carbon dioxide) brandy (styles vary by producer) is added to the wine destined for Port, thus halting fermentation before all sugars are converted. The addition of liquor makes this a fortified wine, significantly higher in alcohol by volume. Because the fermentation was halted prematurely, it is also much sweeter than normal wine. Both of these factors allow Port to age very slowly and have a very long cellar-life.

Styles:
Basically, there are two styles of Port: Barrel-aged (generically referred to as Tawny) and Bottle-aged (generically referred to as Ruby).

The movement of the wine in and out of the wood of the barrel imparts a caramel color and complex flavors including those of vanilla and nuts.