What's new

I Just Got A Hamilton Beach 49987 Coffee Maker!

Star_Wahl_Clipper_Treker

Likes a fat handle in his hand
This is my first time visiting and posting in the Cafe forum, I think I should celebrate that by brewing a cup of coffee! ☕

I actually have a Presto 12-cup percolator, a really nice stainless unit. I grind my own beans that I get from the store, (I usually get French Roast) and brew a pot, comes out very delicious! During the Halloween, Thanksgiving, and Christmas holiday's, I will even add a bit of cinnamon spice to the coffee, to give it that nice delicious seasonal kick.:tongue_sm The only problem is, I don't always want 12-cups of coffee for the day, and as we all know, coffee that sits in a pot for too many hours, goes stale, so thats a waste!

And yes, its true, I could only make 4-cups in my Presto, but thats a lot of work to make so few cups, I wanted to get something easier, for when I just want to make 1 or two cups for the day. I chose the Hamilton Beach 49987 single serve coffee maker, better known as, The Scoop! IMO, this coffee maker is very user friendly, very easy to use, and far quicker to setup and brew coffee. And to make things even easier, I ordered a 40 ounce bag of Kirkland grounded medium roast coffee.

proxy.php

I think this coffee maker has some stylish design choices to it, I like that stainless steel band that goes around the center of the unit, including the band around the front of the coffee reservoir section as well. If your using a small 8 ounce standard size mug, there is a flip down platform in the middle that can fold down to place the mug on. Keep the platform folded up though for 14-ounce mugs.

proxy.php

The water reservoir tank is removable, this is nice, because it allows you to take it to the sink to easily clean it out when it needs it. If you have soft water, you could also fill it from your tap. I have hard water though, so I don't recommend that, and I fill it with Britta filtered water.

proxy.php