What's new

Rookie question about exploring different soaps...

I'm continuing to use the search feature and trying to read up on older threads. The sheer volume of information is overwhelming, so apologies if this has been asked/answered:

Shaving soap question for you guys, as I am a bit of a novice on the soap category. I’ve generally been using shaving creams in a tube, such as Creamo and proraso, and lathering directly on the face.

If I were to buy my first supply of shaving soap, do I need to buy one that’s in a container with a lid so that it is preserved and does not oxidize? I see some that are just sold as Pucks and I’m not sure how they are to be stored each day?

Without knowing any better and looking at simple reviews online, it looks like for somebody who is new to using soaps instead of creams in a tube, the Proraso green might be a good starting point? Please suggest otherwise as I’m really interested. I have my first nice brush on the way to me this week and might be retiring my 12 year old Edwin Jagger brush, although it's been suggested I give it a good shampoo and keep using.

Welcome to B&B, Sir Strumbringer!
You're off to a great start with Proraso stuff, even face-lathering!!
I'd echo suggestion for Arko stick!
Other ideas are Speick stick, Mitchell Wool Fat, Wilkinson Sword stick, any Proraso tub.
Enjoy the journey!!

AimlessWanderer

Remember to forget me!
The soaps prone to spoilage will come in some kind of lidded container anyway. The cakes of soap which don't are refills, sold on the assumption that you already have some kind of soap dish to put them in.