What's new

Help identifying Geneva Cutlery razor

I’m very new to straight razors. Been using an old style Gillette DE forever and wanted to up my game. I bought this straight razor but I’m trying to figure out the style, type, and year it was manufactured. Can you guys help?

Attachments

• 2F9225B3-B6DC-42C8-AC06-CAE19A574E99.jpeg
    2F9225B3-B6DC-42C8-AC06-CAE19A574E99.jpeg
    832.8 KB · Views: 42
  • 6E689D52-23E0-4BD6-9D10-4627F841FBD8.jpeg
    6E689D52-23E0-4BD6-9D10-4627F841FBD8.jpeg
    432.5 KB · Views: 42
  • 49F6948E-5EF4-458B-9368-CEF463901A81.jpeg
    49F6948E-5EF4-458B-9368-CEF463901A81.jpeg
    445.5 KB · Views: 40
Early 1900s. I believe they started making razors around 1902. They changed from Geneva Cutlery Co to Inc in 1928 and the brand was bought by Case in 1935. I think all of the Case era razors were branded Genco, but that mark might have been used prior as well. So between 1902 and 1927. Perhaps someone else here is more familiar with the specific stamping style to narrow it down further, but honestly, a 25 year window is pretty good for dating a razor.

Steve56

Ask me about shaving naked!
I suggest that you look up Geneva advertisement literature/posters on eBay. Sometimes those can give you some help.

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
For style/type, from the photos:
  • American (square) point,
  • Single stabiliser,
  • Half to full hollow (hard to tell) grind and
  • 6/8 or a little less blade width.
Maybe not the best for a n00bie to SR shaving because of the point style but it still should be a very good shaver.

For style/type, from the photos:
  • American (square) point,
  • Single stabiliser,
  • Half to full hollow (hard to tell) grind and
  • 6/8 or a little less blade width.
Maybe not the best for a n00bie to SR shaving because of the point style but it still should be a very good shaver.
You recommend the rounded point then? I was actually thinking about that. What’s a good noob razor?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod