What's new

First go with Arko

Thanks to a generous PIF from @Big_T (thank you!) I received an Arko shave stick.

As many of you already know, I am fairly new to DE shaving and I have not had much success with shaving soap creating enough slickness and protection for my lower neck.

So far I have tried 3 shaving soaps: Proraso (white), Col Conk almond, Williams (I shredded a puck of it with a cheese grater), and now Arko.

I don't really understand the complaints about Arko's scent (to me it just smells like soap).

Anyway: I use cream shave/gel on my lower neck as a pre-shave. Because of the pre-shave product, I don't rub the shave stick directly on my face. Instead I peel off a bit of the soap into my bowl using a vegetable peeler and lather it using my brush.

All of the soaps I have tried seem to produce a very nice lather and work fine for my face--just not my lower neck. For my lower neck, I seem to need the pre-shave. (I could use the cream shave/gel alone, but lathering the soap is more enjoyable.)

So the nice part is that I can use the cream shave/gel as a pre-shave for my lower neck, end up using less of that product per shave, and enjoy shave soap without irritating my neck. Best of both worlds!

I like all of the soaps I have tried, including Arko.

My favorite soap so far, though, is the Col. Conk almond (it has a nice scent that the LOTH likes).

I doubt I am going to get anything more expensive than any of these soaps. It's a shame that Williams seems to have been discontinued; I quite like it (I don't understand the complaint about the Williams soap scent either; I don't mind it).

There's really nothing wrong with the scent of Arko. That's a familiar scent from Turkish barber shops. Not all that different from some laundry soaps in that part of the world. It's an inexpensive soap, so you don't get an expensive scent. For some reason on the shave forums it's made into a big deal.

@Big_T

Slow Motion Reaction GIF by MOODMAN