What's new

Slants - Looking for some basic info. Will they Krueger me? Why get one?

For many years the only razor I used was a vintage Merkur slant from the 1950s. It is very efficient considering how mild a shave it delivers. What I don't like about the slant design is it makes it difficult (for me anyway) to get a clean accurate edge on the bottom of my sideburns. I keep them slightly long and getting the right angle is complicated by the angle of the blade.

Phoenixkh

I shaved a fortune
I saw a razor I took a fancy to, but i'm not in the market for another razor. But, as most of us so often do, I was inventing reasons to get it. It's a slant, and I've never used a slant before. So, it made sense to get a bit of info about them. I finally stopped being coy (and worried that people would think it foolish) and actually posted the razor, with the others in its line. I just felt funny saying hey, I saw a green ABS razor with gold flecks, and I'm trying to talk myself into buying it. It's a double slant. Of course, if everyone said slants are aggressive, problem solved, I don't need an aggressive razor right now... but alas, I may have to give in and get it. Thanks for the other options though (and always good for anyone else reading the thread). Someone else mentioned the Parker as well, sounds like a nice one.
Borwish said his wife likes her Henson AL13 mild a lot.
My wife loves her Henson and prefers to just use a bar of Dove soap.

She said the Henson does better than anything she's ever tried for under her arms and that Cella Bio does a good job of cutting through deodorant residue.

I'm thinking about getting one for my wife. She has resisted moving away from her Gillette Venus razors. She has the regular Venus and the Venus Bikini Trimmer. I think she'd like "our" soaps better than the cream they sell these days, but I'm at a loss when it comes to what would work best for women.