What's new

How long for DE newbie to get proficient?

Good day all,

I am pretty new to DE shaving. Before shaving with a safety razor I looked at shaving as a chore, but now I actually enjoy it.

I've been using the DE for about 2 1/2 weeks at this point, and have found all kinds of good tips in this forum and elsewhere, so thanks to all who share!

I have a VDH (Weishi) TTO razor and Dorco ST-300 blades, and when I use the Shave Secret oil, I get really excellent results, and I am actually surprised I am able to get such good results (at least, I think they are) this quickly.

My questions:

1. How long do you think it took before you became proficient?

2. How long did it take you to figure out which combinations of razor/blade/prep product worked best?

3. How long should a newbie wait before experimenting with new razors?

(I'm asking #3 because I have read a lot that the VDH/Weishi is somewhat inefficient due to its conservative design. My shaves take about 15 minutes and I'm looking to reduce this time if I can.)

Thanks!

StewB

Eben Stone

Staff member
My shaves take about 15 minutes and I'm looking to reduce this time if I can.
You will be more successful when you realize this is counter productive.

Don't attempt to shave faster. Your goal should be better shaves. Eventually they will take less time. Maybe.

#1 what is proficient? Being about to achieve a great shave with any setup? About 3 months of shaving daily.

#2 work in progress. Although I'm very happy with what I have now. Took me about 1 year to get here.

#3 21 days seems like a reasonable answer.

Last edited:
Don't attempt to shave faster. Your goal should be better shaves.
Totally agree with this. I learned that slow and steady is the best way when learning. I have forums like this to thank for this good advice!

A related question, I guess, would be this: What effect(s) does DE razor head design have on shaving efficiency?