What's new

Disappointing first shave with Vikings Meiji

I've been using a Parker Variant for the last several months as I've gotten back into DE shaving. I really like the Variant. I read good reviews about the Viking Meiji so I decided to order it. First, let me say that it's a really nicely constructed razor. I like the weight, look and feel. I loaded it this morning with a Personna Red which I love with the Parker Variant. However, I wasn't happy with the shave with the Meiji this morning. I'm guessing I'll have to try different settings on it. I tried it at about 4.5 to 5. I have some stubble left on my neck which is my toughest area. With the Parker, I get close to a BBS, especially with my favorite blades. I want to like the Meiji. Not sure if anyone has had a similar experience of if you have recommendations. Thanks!

lasta

Blade Biter
All razors are just blade holders. Find the right angle, find the right pressure, shave away, haha!

I bet you just need time to get used to it.

I bought a Vikings Blade Emporer and tried to like it. It shaved horribly. Between a Rex Ambassador, Merkur Progress, Rockwell 6s, and a Gillette Slim, the Emporer came in dead last.

That was one of my first razors, I didn't like it much. I use it once a month for the heck of it, it's alright. TLDR: you need a sufficiently large box techniques to figure it out. Not great for a beginner. Also, the doors are Zamac and people have had them deteriorate with daily use.