What's new

Shaving without pressure?

rbscebu

Girls call me Makaluod
We have all heard that when shaving with a SR you should use about zero pressure of the edge against your skin. I have found this to be correct. The lighter the pressure, the closer the shave.

What I can't understand is why is this so. How does having edge pressure against the skin while SR shaving decrease the closeness of the shave?

I'm only an engineer so cannot work outllogically in my mind.

Using the lightest, and slightest touch, is what made if possible -- i.e., without irritation -- for me to knock down the whiskers on my outer jaw where the jawbone curves. I do ATG on pass 2. The visualization when I do this is the edge clipping each whisker.

What is my explanation for why this works? The blade should ride on the skin so that it sheers the whiskers off right at the surface. If you press too hard, then the blade begins to press into the skin. The source of the irritation, as I deduce, is the skin being damaged by the scraping. Despite the irritation, why not a closer shave?

I recall an article from the Sharpologist about creating a bulge of skin ahead of the blade (one reason to stretch the skin). The bulge warps the surface and prevents the blade from having full contact, thus shearing off the whiskers in the wrong place on the hair shaft (not where the shaft meets the skin surface).

The problem is with applying zero pressure, especially with soft sensitive skin is that the whiskers tend to slide under the blade without being cut despite skin stretching and attention to blade angle I've concluded that the whisker roots (follicles) tend to be weaker with soft sensitive skin meaning they can be easily pushed over, by the blade, without being cut?