What's new

Advice appreciated for SR new to DE

Hi all,

I’d appreciate some advice from members.

I’ve been shaving for close to 15 years with straight razors but wanted something to replace cartridges which I use when I travel.

I’m about 10 shaves in with an r89 but I’m so far unable to get a close shave. Patches of stubble around my cheek are occasional errors I put down to incorrect angle which I’ll fix with practice.

More of concern is around my neck - just can’t seem to get at the stubble there. I have a a very bony jawline and scrawny neck so lots of contours there. Multiple passes haven’t helped (just one does it with the straight).

I’m wondering if a more aggressive razor would help?

What do members think?

David

Dave himself

Wee Words of Wisdom
When first started wet shaving I started off with half DE shavettes after about 4 to 5 months I decided I wanted to try Safety Razors so after a bit of digging I decided to buy an adjustable so I bought a merkur progress. My train of thought being I didn't know if I'd prefer a aggressive/ efficient razor or a mild/ less efficient razor. And with the adjustable it would make it easier without buying more than say 3 razors to find out what my preference was. I'm not telling you to by an adjustable just letting you know what worked for me. Hope you get it sorted soon and this maybe helps a little.

ajkel64

Check Out Chick
Staff member
You could buy yourself on old beater Gillette Tech. They are plentiful and cheap as chips so to speak. Plus if you leave it behind it would be no great loss. Techs are on the milder side but if you pair it up with a sharper blade such as a Feather it could give you a great shave like most of us get out of the Fantastic Gillette Tech. Also I have seen on eBay disposable Straight Razors. I don’t think they are that cheap but there is another option if you wanted to keep using a Straight Razor.