What's new

Trumper Shaving Soaps

Hi All,

I'm new to wet shaving with shaving soap and a brush and wondered what experiences people here have had with the Trumper products. Are they good for sensitive skin? The last shaving soap I used left me quite spotty. The prices seem very reasonable if the shaving soaps are of the same high standard as the fragrances, I love the EDT, EDP and even the deodorant of Eucris, although it took me years to truly appreciate it. Unfortunately the other fragrance I love from them (Spanish Leather Cologne) isn't available as a shaving soap, but I like the thought of using Sandalwood and Almond in that form. I've heard good things about the Almond but have never actually tried it and Sandalwood is a bit too intense and vanillic for me as a regular fragrance, but I wouldn't mind shaving with it.

Also wondered what their brushes were like and shaving brushes in general, as they don't have boar available. I only have a synthetic one from Razorock which seems pretty damn good but would like to try a natural one. Should I go for badger or boar and is there any animal suffering involved?

Shaving Products - Geo. F. Trumper - https://www.trumpers.com/shaving-products/

Thanks very much in advance,

Nick

I would steer you away from their soaps personally. Their creams aren't bad if you really want to get one of their scents. In my opinion there are a lot of better options out there though.

On your brush question, synthetics are really great these days so I don't think you're missing much if you decide to stick with it. I guess you could say there's animal suffering involved with badger and boar brushes. In both cases, the animal is dead when the hair is harvested. If that bothers you and you still want a natural hair brush, horse hair is probably your option. If you look for the Vie-Long brand, they're probably the best known maker of them.