What's new

Are long handles worth it?

Tirvine

ancient grey sweatophile
I studied this closely this morning. Because of the tilting of your head to look in the mirror at either side of the mirror, I believe that the gravitational benefit of weight as a way to apply pressure works across and against as well as with the grain and is enhanced by moving out on the handle. So much of what we do is unconscious and the product of muscle memory.

The long handle makes sense for a razor with a pivoting head,
otherwise, not so much.
I dont know about that. I think that hand size plays a role. If you have bigger hands, a long handled may allow you to rest your pinkie under the handle while a short handle may not.
I personally prefer a short handle but long handles have a place.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk

I dont know about that. I think that hand size plays a role. If you have bigger hands, a long handled may allow you to rest your pinkie under the handle while a short handle may not.
I personally prefer a short handle but long handles have a place.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Tapatalk
This is 100% true. I have long, skinny fingers combined with some mobility issues which make using a short handle fairly difficult for me. It’s not impossible but longer handles make it much easier.

I studied this closely this morning. Because of the tilting of your head to look in the mirror at either side of the mirror, I believe that the gravitational benefit of weight as a way to apply pressure works across and against as well as with the grain and is enhanced by moving out on the handle. So much of what we do is unconscious and the product of muscle memory.
+1
Agreed. But to each their own. Use what works best for you. Today I put my West Coast Shaving 79S handle ($15) on my Winning razor and the razor performed much better for me. The 79S is a bit longer at nearly 4" and provides better grip than the stock handle on the Winning razor.

Winning Wiz Heather.jpg

+1