What's new

Bought my first Strop and it came with a Scratch. How bad is it?

Hello!
I am very new to straight razor shaving and I bought my first Strop. It came in today and when I opened it I saw this scratch on it. I can feel the scratch with my fingers when I go over it. Is this still usable or should I send it back? What do you guys think?
Thanks in advance!
Best,
GBB
IMG_20210901_203852.jpg
IMG_20210901_203858.jpg

Was it bought used? That's not a big deal. Shouldn't impact use.

Was it bought new? Because that's not new. That damage is not original to the hide. That's damage from use... so they send you a used/returned strop. 100% return it.

I cut and scraped the heck out of my first strop years ago so if the Vendor won’t replace/exchange then use it and as stared you will most likely damage it anyway, after say 6 months or so and you develop that muscle memory for stropping then visit @Tony Miller shop and get one of his and it will last a lifetime and arrive with zero damage, fit and finish are top notch

I have a similar situation, but perhaps a little more subtle. (Didn't want to spam with a new thread for something 99% similar.)

Strop is an Illinois #827/Russian Imperial.
The imperfection is on the flesh side. (Which I assume is the intended stropping surface, not the ribbed top-grain side)
Can this be removed? If so, how would I remove it? Just sand it a bit with 1k or something?

I wanna be able to keep it since I got it for $15 new, but not if it's gonna blunt my razor.

Attachments

• 20211006_151814.jpg
    20211006_151814.jpg
    8.1 MB · Views: 30
It’s a $15 dollar strop?

It will not affect the blade. You can smooth the back side, but just use the front side, you will be fine.
It's not normally $15. This brand of strops are usually around $40-$50usd. I just got it on sale, that's all.

Also apparently with this style, the flesh side IS the "front side".