What's new

Gelling brushes! What is it? What's the difference?is it worth it?

Howdy gents and ladies,
During my short time wetshaving (about 3 years) i have come to the new concept for me at least of gelling brushes. I dont understand exactly what that is or if its worth doing. So I would be very interested in peoples thoughts and explanation. For more details of my small collection of brushes i have an omega pro boar brush, a semogue soc boar brush , a yaqi 26 mm synthetic tuxedo brush, and my newer one is a ds cosmetic black badger 24 mm brush.

Sent from my SM-G781U1 using Tapatalk

I’m not an expert by any means but had done some research on gel tip knots so if anything I say is incorrect, please let me know.

When a knot is “gelled” or has “gel tips”, it means the tips of the hairs are treated in a chemical that damages the hair, causing the tips to hook, so the flat surface is facing up towards your face, not the pointy end of the hair. This causes the hair to hook and clump together, creating the “wall of badger” or “cloud like softness” as some refer to it, you won’t feel the individual hairs like in a natural / untreated knot. It’s done to natural hair brushes, not synthetic. You probably noticed as your boar’s broke in, they became softer as the tips of the hair would break in, the gel treatment is like having a broken in brush with the first shave rather then breaking them in over dozens of shaves. Gel tips are used most frequently in 2 band badgers where they are known for having stronger backbone, as the gel treatment doesn’t affect the backbone, but not as soft tips as a 3 band, which is usually very soft tips but not much backbone or sometimes floppy. By gelling the tips of a 2 band, you get backbone with “soft” tips.

The gel process seems to be done to different degrees and some knot sellers allow you to pick if you want no gel, some gel or lots of gel on their badger knots. Some others gel them more conservatively where others go to the extreme.