What's new

AR sight recommend

OkieStubble

Dirty Donuts are so Good.
OKS

I hear you. If it was just the thread drift, I might have left it in place. Certainly in the sub 500 space it was a great value because it was usable out of the box without a dedicated mount etc.

The AA model particularly liked fresh batteries and needed the spring/eraser mod for max reliability v. the CR123 model whose battery was seated across the cross v. in line with the gun and its recoil impulses. I had the AA one.

Battery life relative to the Aimpoint and my personal vision issues were all in the mix as well. I candidly acknowledge that if I carried a rifle for a living, I would be replacing those every mission to 1st fri of the month depending on application as opposed to the 1x a yr with an Aimpoint.

If astigmatism is not in play (where for me the 65 MOA reticle seems very pixelated), that 65 MOA reticle the 1 moa dot is very versatile and can give the shooter a ton of feedback/holdover info.

Good post David.

My doctor tells me I have astigmatism's in both eyes. From what I understand, an astigmatism is where our eyeball is shaped like an egg? My eye doctor tells me, one of my eyes the large side of the egg is facing out and the small side of the egg is facing in. And my other eye is the opposite, where the small side of the egg is facing out while the large side is facing in.

I have heard that diode generated Red Dot's like brands from Aimpoints and Trijicon's are much better for Astimagtism's versus the pixilated holographic projection's of sights like the Eotech. I think the LPVO will provide the variable magnification I'm looking for, while still providing enough illumination for lower light. And the offset dot, will help provide and strengthen the areas where the LPVO is weak and lacking, like increased options in tactical, postional mobility a bright dot for daylight hours, along with the quick CQB transition instead of having to depend on powering down the LVPO.