What's new

I'm embarking on my SR shaving journey

Hi all,

I'm just getting started in my SR journey. At first I decided I didn't want to mess with stropping/honing so I got a Feather SS Shavette. After reading more (and experimenting with the razor), I agree that they are VERY unforgiving. :s
So upon much advice here on the forums, I ordered a Dovo Bismarck, and a Horsehide strop from Heirloom (Tony Miller). I can see the gasps coming in already. DO NOT RUIN a Tony Miller Strop!!! I also ordered his practice strop to get me going for a while before I dive into the good stuff.

I'm now 4 shaves in and I'm learning/gaining confidence with each shave. Here are my first observations:

1. The N-S pass is very comfortable. The standard grip works fine with both hands, and I'm surprisingly capable with my non-dominant hand here.
2. Like a food, I don't stop at WTG and attempt a 3-pass shave each time. I have the nearly 1cm long battle scars to prove it.
3. No matter how hard I try, I inevitably make an errant slash or two and get a real cut (not just a weeper).
4. I'm able to get BBS on my sideburns and cheeks. It rapidly goes downhill from there.

The hardest part for me is finding the right grips to hold the razor to do my XTG/ATG passes, which necessitate me going from chin to ears. Most videos seem to show going from ears to chin.

Anyway I thought I'd share/document my journey, and hopefully chronicle my learnings as well.

Cheers everyone and thanks for all the AMAZING advice.

Congratulations! That's a great setup.to start with. The Bismarck and Bergischer Lowe razors are ones I hope to own some day when I am well grounded in to Straight razor shaving. Currently I am happy with vintage solingen and sheffield steel off fleabay honed myself.

The cuts may have to do with how rigidly you hold the razor and the pressure?