What's new

Tabac or Pre Providence No.63

Well august is here and that means cold temps are coming and that means then it’s time for the heavy scented soaps.

I’ve been eyeballing a container of tabac, I’ve never used it or smelt it before, same goes with Pre. Providence No.63 can anyone give me a opinion on a side by side comparison of the two?

I’m leaning towards a container of tabac and then a bottle of proraso red for the winter. Something I haven’t had in my rotation for a bit.

The scents are a little similar. Both sort of floral. I'd say I prefer the scent of PDP No. 63 but the performance of that one was a bit mediocre for me. Tabac was a better performer IMO but the scent irritated my skin a bit so I haven't used it in a long time.

Okay, cryptic remarks aside, a more serious response: if you can source a puck of the former tallow-based version of Tabac, this is 100% what you should go with. Unfortunately, the parent company decided to reformulate earlier this year and it's unclear if the new Tabac is really worthy of its name anymore. The old pucks are still likely floating around if you're willing to look.

I have Tabac, PdP 63, and Proraso red. Of the three Proraso is my favorite. I love the scent. PdP has a stronger scent than Tabac, IMO. I have used the PdP 63 only one time. Judging from the one use, I prefer the scent of Tabac, which, to me, just smells like soap. Honestly, I’m not sure what to make of PdP 63.

Smell: 63 by FAR FAR.....nice smelling. Quality of shave....probably the same...... Whichever is cheaper that day on A.....n, will be a fine soap. And they go on sale sometimes.... Both are way better than most of the "famous" new, coveted, fancy and expensive artisan soaps. I say get them both if you haven't