What's new

Straight Razor Acquisition Thread

Just received the Revisor 8/8
the blade is shorter than a casual straight. Horn scales, I like it a lot, can't wait to try it :)
very good service from Revisor BTW.
rev1.jpg

rev2.jpg

I’ve been shaving with a straight for 8 months now. I had promised myself that I would spend a full year using vintage razors to find out what I liked before springing for a brand new razor. So didn’t quite make it to a year... this arrived today, will be testing it soon! :)

View attachment 1268538View attachment 1268539

Koraat 14 2.0 Full Hollow with tough beard option

Very good choice love Koraat razors

Can't have enough of a good thing. Nice Dubl Duck!

That's one icon I don't have and would buy if the right one comes up.

One will come along when you least expect it but you want the 4 they all shave nice

Wade & Butcher Magnum Bonum just over 1 inch wide near wedge with translucent blonde scales. First 1 inch chopper. After hunting for 2 months, found it on eBay. Took it completely apart, cleaned the blade and scales with wet/dry sandpaper and steel wool.

The razor came with brass pins and silver washers which I assume means the scales had been re-pinned, but my best guess is that the scales are original. There is one dark spot on the inside of the back scale near the hinge pin that would not come out. I assume this is just a natural discoloration of the horn.

Biggest challenges were removing the active red rust (visible on the before photos), and cleaning up the etched "Magnum Bonum" lettering.