What's new

Pre-shave Stropping - Always Leather & Linen or Not?

OK, so I will be trying a straight razor soon for the first time. I've used a shavette before. I've watched lots of videos, and they pretty much agree that one should strop prior to shaving. But the how-to videos always show people stropping not only on the leather but also on the linen/canvas with the chromium oxide or paste on it. So is that done every time pre-shave? Or do you just strop on the leather each time, and then strop also on the goobered up cloth strop when the blade starts to tug, or?

Don't bother with any pastes to begin with. Leave everything clean.
I use leather mostly every time till the edge is just not getting back to where it should be, then, I will use the linen for 10-15 strokes followed by leather again, repeat till neither works, rehone/touchup.

Thank you. I was wondering. I didn't think the chromium oxide/paste would be done every time. That didn't make sense to me, but since I'm new to the straight razor, I wanted to ask to verify.

I strop after the shave for the most part as it helps to remove any standing debris on the blade and in the the drying process. I strop on leather from shave to shave, and a few passes on linen when the edge starts falling off, as mentioned above, followed by leather. When the linen no longer does the trick at bringing back the edge, I move to either a pasted strop (red and black Solingen pastes on leather) or a fine finishing stone (Welsh or Vermont slate or Lune stone).

If you are receiving your first straight as "shave ready" from a reputable source, I would forgo stropping it yourself before shaving for the first time, to better know what the edge is like as received. Then begin your own stropping before the second shave.