What's new

newbie to shaving brushes, need help please

hey people so im not a newbie to using de razors and blades but when it comes to shaving brushes i consider myself a newbie tbh i dont really know anything about shvaing brushes and i dont understand anything about knots and anything related to shaving brushes tbh

i know that shaving brushes come in badger hair, boar bristle, horse hair and synthetic

what would you recommend for someone like me?

i did get this cheapo from savers uk the other day called erasmic which was only a few quid and i got a wilkinson sword shaving brush the same day too

this is the erasmic one
and this is the wilkinson sword one

i did get a omega boar bristle brush but being muslim i didnt realise it wasnt permissible to use so i've since thrown it away and yea i regret throwing it away because i couldve given it someone as a PIF instead, i also threw away my good quality kent hair brushes because those were also boar bristle too

i do have a muhle badger hair brush yea its good quality and all but believe it or not i prefered the synthetic brush over it,
as the synthetic just felt better and i dont know if this is the right word but maybe stronger or should i say firmer?

the badger just feels way too soft tbh

im open to the type of brush i get, as long as its either badger or synthetic,
i dont really want a horse hair brush because i got a beard horse hair brush recently and its just way too soft,
so i assume that the shaving brush that comes in horse hair would be way too soft too, or maybe im wrong assuming that? i dont know...

i do like the look of those yaqi shaving brushes tbh, look really nice....

so like i said i dont know what size would be good for me?

also dont understand knots like i said earlier

so yea any help would be appreciate like always

thanks saj :)

The Yaqi synthetics are very good. I'd recommend a cashmere or tuxedo knot, probably in 24mm.