What's new

Safety Razor Acquisition Thread.

timeless arrived today👍🏼
DSC_0177.JPG

I decided to do something I have never done before. I just bought a razor in terrible condition for less than $5. This Y2 Super-Speed (1953) was all black. On some places where the nickel was lost there were green patina spots. I had to put much effort to clean it, but I think it was worth it. The mechanism wasn't smooth at all. Midway you could feel it stuck for a fraction of a second and then it went further before tightening. Now it is all smooth. Gaps are even. A fully functional razor.

It looks great, and for $5 it's like a sore dicxxx... you can't beat it!
Sorry so crude, local antique shop guy uses that line whenever you ask how much lol.
Try some 0000 steel wool to buff that baby to a shine and smooth out any rough spots. It's my secret lol.

Isn’t that a Timeless stand as well? If so, that’s very strange.
yes timeless stand too, very strange, my Feather AS D2 fits in it but considering i bought it with the Timeless I'm surprised Maggards just sent it without actually messaging me to say that particular stand doesnt fit that razor and i could have perhaps chosen another stand🤔

yes timeless stand too, very strange, my Feather AS D2 fits in it but considering i bought it with the Timeless I'm surprised Maggards just sent it without actually messaging me to say that particular stand doesnt fit that razor and i could have perhaps chosen another stand🤔
Agreed. They must ship a ton of stuff daily but at least quickly check that it fits before packaging such an expensive razor and stand.

Nice razor, but it is useless if it can’t fit in the stand. Do you own a Dremel or belt sander? 🤪

Agreed. They must ship a ton of stuff daily but at least quickly check that it fits before packaging such an expensive razor and stand.

Nice razor, but it is useless if it can’t fit in the stand. Do you own a Dremel or belt sander? 🤪