What's new

Mild slant razor - am I doing it wrong?

Hi Guys,
long time lurker, I know, but have learned a lot reading around here.

I'm a daily shaver and I've been using DE razors for about four years now. I know that I have very sensitive skin, so the mild range of razors it is for me. My daily driver is a Rockwell 6S on "3", seldom on "4". This works well for me, but obviously it's not a very efficient razor. So I usually go with a "socially acceptable shave" on a one-pass across-the-grain (is that ATG? or XTG?) shave with touch-up. As my beard is rather lightly colored, I can get away with it.

I like the idea of a slant (slicing rather than hacking), so I wanted to try something new and looked around here. I got myself an iKon X3 as that was widely seen as a very mild slant (only one milder is probably the Razorock Stealth, but that's been discontinued for a while now, so I couldn't get one).

What can I say, the X3 is way more efficient than my 6S, one can really feel the slicing action, but it feels like the blade is sticking out half an inch. Like pure blade feel. Experimenting with the angle didn't change that. Sadly, the amount of nicks I get using it (even being really careful with zero pressure) is just not acceptable.

So am I doing something wrong? Any milder slants with a small blade gap out there? Or is a slant just not for me?

Thanks!

I have never tried the X3 but I do have a Merkur 37 and I can barely feel anything when I shave with it. but you may want to play with the angle of your shave. I do know there are more experienced slant shavers out there. Let's hope they chime in.

Hi Guys,
long time lurker, I know, but have learned a lot reading around here.

I'm a daily shaver............So I usually go with a "socially acceptable shave" on a one-pass across-the-grain (is that ATG? or XTG?) shave with touch-up.

Thanks!

I experienced, Merkur 37C, Razorock Germant Slant, Ikon X3 and famous FOCS (Lo Storto).
I still own these Slants.