What's new

Newbie says hi, possible razor advice?

Hi all.

I'm 51, from the UK, and, while I've been using a safety razor for a few years, I only started taking it seriously and trying to do things properly last year.

I am using a Merkur travel razor that I bought many years ago on a whim and for most of those years I used canned gel or just shower gel. Last year I got myself an Omega 48 brush, some Proraso white soap, and a 100 blade sample pack. I watched some YouTube videos, worked on my technique, and am now at the point where I can get a pretty good shave most days, and only get nicks when I do something silly, which is becoming rarer as I get more disciplined about my technique.

As I progress I find myself wondering if the travel razor is the best option for me. I am considering some other razors and would appreciate some advice, would this be the correct forum to ask in?

Thanks for reading,

Deselby69

Welcome to B&B! I own a travel razor as part of my RAD but have never shaved with it. I would assume most everyone in this forum don't either. If I did much traveling, I would invest in a leather cover for a full size razor. I also think your technique will improve as you get your hands on a full size handle. Lots of styles and weights which is more than half the fun of this hobby. Have fun!

Welcome! I’ve owned and used the 4 piece Merkur travel razor for many years—it’s a fine tool that gives me good shaves. Other razors might give you results that are a bit closer and/or a bit smoother, but continuing to develop your technique is probably still the most important factor in getting consistently good shaves.

That said, I wouldn’t discourage you from trying some new hardware. There are lots of great razors out there at all different price points. I’d recommend looking at reviews here on B&B and on vendors’ sites, then coming back with questions about specific models that interest you.

Thanks to everyone for the replies.