What's new

Brown Leaf Newbie Check-In & General Chat

brandaves

With a great avatar comes great misidentification
Howdy, all,

I'm not a newbie to pipe smoking, but I haven't packed and lit up any of my pipes in years. Most of them date from the days when Tinder Box existed at my local mall, but I also have ones I picked up at independent tobacconists before those became extinct here. They're in a large cardboard box in my closet; I need to open it up and see what I have! I may still have pipe cleaners, and I have wooden matches.

So, if I decide to try this again, I'm set except for tobacco. I always liked the Cavendish and sweeter blends, not the Oriental or English stuff. Recommendations for something mild to get me started?
Lane 1Q is probably the world's best selling tobacco right now and fits your description to a tee. Give it a shot.

Columbo

Mr. Codgers Neighborhood
Howdy, all,

I'm not a newbie to pipe smoking, but I haven't packed and lit up any of my pipes in years. Most of them date from the days when Tinder Box existed at my local mall, but I also have ones I picked up at independent tobacconists before those became extinct here. They're in a large cardboard box in my closet; I need to open it up and see what I have! I may still have pipe cleaners, and I have wooden matches.

So, if I decide to try this again, I'm set except for tobacco. I always liked the Cavendish and sweeter blends, not the Oriental or English stuff. Recommendations for something mild to get me started?

Welcome back! Returning wayward pipers are the very best pipers.