What's new

How has Covid affected your pipe smoking habits?

nortac

"Can't Raise an Eyebrow"
How has the pandemic affected your pipe smoking, if at all? For me, as an occasional pipe smoker, the cool/cold weather is usually my prime smoking time of the year. But I seem to be doing less of it this year. I have a chronic tickle in the back of my throat and have had since way before the pandemic, probably due to gastric reflux and/or post nasal drip, and just about anything can make me cough. Yes it has been thoroughly checked out. If I smoke, the next day the frequency of my coughing increases. In this Covid paranoia environment, I don't like the added attention I get from my variable chronic cough. Plus I work in the healthcare industry. I'm not concerned that my occasional pipe smoking would increase my chances of getting Covid, I just don't like the extra scrutiny.

seabee1999

On the lookout for new chicks
Except for the past few weeks, in all honesty, it has changed my frequency. Even before the pandemic, I’d smoke not more than 4 times a month. But I also have had GI and allergy issues go back to last year when I moved to central Oklahoma. I’ve had a tickle or a cough because of the afore mentioned issues and really don’t want to attract further attention to myself. The slow down for me though this month was because of a positive test that came back close to home for me. So in an effort to stay ahead of the curve, I’ve dropped the pipe/cigar for a short time until things pass a bit.

brandaves

With a great avatar comes great misidentification
I've been smoking less, mostly because I'm busy lately. COVID has had no bearing on my smoking habits.