What's new

[Need your help] How to have better shaving experience?

Hi B&B!

I'm relatively new to the DE safety world. Some of you may saw my last thread (Blood spots everywhere after using DE razor, help - https://www.badgerandblade.com/forum/threads/blood-spots-everywhere-after-using-de-razor-help.598125/) and offer good solid advice. Indeed, I see a clear improvement of my shaving skills without leaving nicks after reading tutorials, watching Youtube video (nick shaves), buying new products (brush, shave cream, blades) and doing practice. Thank you!

However, my shaving experience is way far from enjoyable, but burning, exhausting, time-consuming (10-15 mins compared to 3-5 mins of the cartridge razors) and awful. In terms of the closeness, one of the factors which I care the most and bring me from the cartridge and electric razors to DE safety razors world, it is not satisfying. That is to say, after a few shaves (WTG, XTG and ATG), it is only a bit better than cartridge razors (Gillette Proglide Fusion 5 with a canned gel) though much more time investigated.

1. How did I prep and shave?
HOT SHOWER - I rinse my face with adequate warm/hot water and particularly the shaving areas to open up pores and soften the whiskers. LATHER UP - The hot water-soaked brush swirl inside the cream bowl and then lather up face with occasionally dipping a small amount of water. The lather is okay but not dense and silky. 3 PASS SHAVE - a three or four pass shave (WTG, XTG, ATG, or one more ATG) follows. WASH AND CLEAN - I did wash my face to clean residuals and hairs, and lather up between each pass. I assume my procedures are correct, and perhaps the reason for the awful experience comes from the products which I'm gonna talk about. Additionally, I should mention that my facial hair (around mouse and chin) are relatively coarser and tougher than most Europeans.

2. What products am I currently using?