What's new

B&B's I Cycle, You Cycle, Let's Exchange Stories (aka B.I.C.Y.C.L.E.S.)

It sounds like you had a nice ride, aside from the being out of shape and the pulled muscle! I did get out on my road bike this morning for a short 15 miler. I hope it was cooler in Northern Virginia than it was here in St. Louis this morning. When I set off on my ride at 8am, it was 80 degrees, 95% humidity with a dew point of 73. That is some bad hot air, but I LOVE Summer, no matter the weather!

I'm visiting Centralia, IL. The humidity/mugginess factors are off the chart! RESPECT for getting on the bike in current conditions.

I've been commuting for a few months now and have noticed more bugs hitting my face lately, this morning a bee lodged itself under my helmet and stung me... Had a nice welt for a couple hours at work.

Should I wear a visor? lol

CB08EA92-7405-45CD-AE84-9AABFE33D800.jpeg018F1850-AF32-4BD3-8EA6-3182BF244AD0.jpegE473C9C6-8D4F-4B4D-8944-4CF1AFB51F2E.jpeg
Took the mountain bike out the parkway to help mulch newly planted slash pines. I like bombing up and down the berm and slaloming through the more mature pines and bald cypress trees, avoiding sandspurs as much as possible. After sandwiching 30 min rides around 2 hours of pitchforking, I was out of 2.5L of Skratch Labs from my hydration pack. Brutal heat and humidity even early in the morning, but great to get out! Refueled by stuffing leftover chicken and steak fajita ingredients in a 3 egg omelette!

Actually broke the tip of my index finger at Alafia Sunday! Unreal. Just got the X-ray today at an urgent care facility. I went in to see if they would totally remove the fingernail, but the doc left it in place. It won't keep me off the bike long...

View attachment 1078153

I won't post pics of the hand and finger. You can see how a bone fragment pushed up the base of the nail bed from the X-ray.
UPDATE: I can finally open a can of seltzer normally! Only took 4+ months!